Author Interviews

Author Interview: R E Sheahan

Today’s guest is science fiction and fantasy author, R E Sheahan

Intro: What’s your name, what do you write, where can readers find you on social media? And just for fun, if you could be any mythological being, what or who would you be?

Hello Claerie!

My Name is Robynn E Sheahan, and my author name is R E Sheahan.

Right now I’m finishing book five in a YA Science Fiction/Fantasy series, Storm of Arranon

https://www.facebook.com/AuthorRobynn/

https://twitter.com/RESheahan

Wow! A mythological being, hmmm. I think a Leprechaun, one, because I’m Irish so I’d fit in pretty good, and two, I’d get to live in Ireland. And, are they really mythological?

1. What got you interested in writing?

I’ve always read, a lot. And, as I’ve been told, I have a wild imagination, so, I thought, why not write some of my imaginings down. And I did. Now I can’t, nor would I want to, stop.

2. When did you become SERIOUS about writing?

I played around with Star Wars fan fiction, creating my own characters and worlds. About eight years ago, four of those characters demanded I write their story. I took the work to a class where the instructor challenged me to write the story, but not in the Star Wars world. I accepted the challenge and created my worlds, Arranon and Korin. Five books later . . . ?

3. What inspired your newest release?

From book one, Storm of Arranon, the characters inspire me. Book four, Storm of Arranon Sticks and Stones, is just their continuing story.

4. What is the book about?

It’s about Erynn, still trying to find out exactly who she is, and how she can help save her worlds from a powerful enemy. And, it’s about love. Love for her friends, her extended family, and the man who doesn’t remember her, or the love they once shared.

5. What are the characters like?

Erynn is intelligent, headstrong, capable, a bit of a rebel, but also a little naive. She’s often unsure where she fits in a world that doesn’t accept who and what she is, a half-blood. Erynn rarely thinks things through before she acts, which gets her in trouble, a lot.

Jaer, leader of the Anbas Warriors, has made it his duty to protect Erynn. Even when she doesn’t want his protection.

Cale, an old friend of Erynn’s biological father, is like her, a half-blood. He’s patient and kind, and carries a secret about her that can and will affect her future.

6. Who should pick up your book and why?

If you like fast paced, action and adventure on a beautiful but deadly world with amazing creatures, with, of course, a sweet romance, I believe you’ll like these books.

7. Favorite quote from your own work?

Jaer is always telling Erynn she should,  “Never apologize for who you are.”

8. Traditional or Self-publishing? Why?

The first three books I self-published and loved it. I controlled the process, picked my editor, proofreader, and cover designers.

I was picked up by a traditional publisher for book four, Storm of Arranon Sticks and Stones, to be released in paperback May 1 and eBook June 1. I’m still waiting to see how I like going that route. It’s been much slower than self-publishing, but they’ve worked with me and took my suggestions regarding much of the process. And I loved the editor I worked with. So . . .?

9. If you could only write in one genre for the rest of your life what would it be and why?

Science Fiction/Fantasy. I can let my imagination go, which it kinda does anyway.

10. Name one book that changed the way you write?

Fear Nothing by Dean Koontz. I love his ability to describe his characters and the settings. I feel like I’m right there with his characters, experiencing what happens to them.

11. Three authors you recommend and why?

Well, Dean Koontz because of his ability to draw me into the story.

Nelson DeMille, the John Corey books. His dialog and character development.

Sue Grafton, because I love Kinsey Millhone.

12. If you could change one thing about the world, what would it be?

Love. I believe what Jesus told us, to love God, to love our neighbors as ourselves, and to love our enemies. If we were to love everyone, with no judgement, I know the world would be a better place.

13. What do you believe is your main purpose/motivation as a writer?

I want to write stories that people enjoy reading, but, I’ve been told, my work does have an element of morality without being preachy.

14. What’s your favorite writing-related memory?

The friends I’ve made at critique groups, writer’s groups, and conferences.

15. What’s a favorite moment you’ve had with a fan/someone who’s read your work?

I was at a library reading and a young girl wanted to have her picture taken with me!

16. One fun fact most people don’t know about you?

Hmmm. Not sure how much of a secret this is, but I do have a fondness for cupcakes.

17. One piece of advice you would give to new writers?

Read. And join critique groups. I know that’s two, but both are important.


Thank you for the great interview, Robynn. If you like the sound of her books, don’t forget to follow Robyn on Facebook and Twitter, and look out of her newest release on May 1!

If you liked this post, please scroll to the top of the page and type in your email to follow my blog and get an update every time I post new content. 

As always, keep making magic, word weavers!

42917 Signature

Leave a comment