Author Interview: S.G.D Singh

 

Intro: What’s your name, what do you write, where can readers find you on social media? And just for fun, if you could be any mythological being, what or who would you be?

 My name is SiriGuruDev—S.G.D—Singh. At this point I’ve published only three books, The Infernal Guard Trilogy, Emergence, Descent, and Severance. I’m working on a fourth, a standalone YA Historical Fiction about India’s partition, and I have the next two after that planned out.

You can find me on Facebook, Twitter, Instagram, or Pinterest, or check out my website (with all the social media links) at www.sgdsingh.com

If I could be any mythological creature, I’d like to be something with multiple arms, so I could do stuff like read and cook at the same time. I’m pretty sure the Goddess Durga isn’t counted as a mythological creature, though…

Okay, I’ll go with an Erinyes instead. They only have two arms, but they do get to have those awesome wings, and who wouldn’t want to be able to fly, right? Plus, a ‘goddess of vengeance who punishes men for crimes against the natural order’ sounds pretty cool. And I can always decide to slack off and sleep instead.

  1. What got you interested in writing? Ever since I figured out books were written by actual people I’ve wanted to tell my own crazy tales. I started writing plays and short stories in third grade, and forcing my friends to act them out. I still remember when a bunch of the “cool older girls” at our boarding school in India somehow got ahold of one of my stories and asked if I was really the one who wrote it. It was encouraging, that thrill to see how impressed and surprised they all were.
  2. When did you become SERIOUS about writing? By the time I realized I wasn’t going to magically become the next Stephen King, the dream of being a writer seemed out of reach. It wasn’t until I was old enough and wise enough realize failure is better than not trying (that’s thirty-six, in my case) that I decided to focus on writing full time. I mean, with self-publishing, what’s the worst that can happen? No one reads your book, right? At least you had the joy of writing it. Nothing but nothing compares! 
  1. What inspired your book? I think that final “A-ha moment” would have to be when I read Laini Taylor’s Daughter of Smoke & Bone. I had a vague idea of my story at the time, but reading that book encouraged me to take the plunge and just go for it. I think it re-kindled the childhood wonder of an adventure where absolutely anything is possible.
  2. What is the book about? The original premise for The Infernal Guard was inspired by Hindu Mythology’s Fourteen Worlds. I thought, ‘What if our world is actually 14 dimensions? What if every monster and magical creature is real? That would, naturally, require our realm to have a group of supernaturally gifted badass people keeping them out with their mind-blasting heroic awesomeness, while insuring the safety of innocent civilians, and making sure the magical or horrifying remain “fictional”.

         I guess it can be described as “Asia Mortal Instruments meets romantic shapeshifting Wushu warriors, featuring a variety of mythological monsters as well as everything from Vampires and Goblins to Zombies, Wraiths and Revenants.”

  1. What are the characters like? Being a Young Adult series, all the main characters are seventeen, discovering their powers for the first time, and falling in love. I would describe them as stupidly fearless, absolutely loyal, and more than ready to give each other crap while always see the humor in life-threatening situations. 
  2. Who should pick up your book and why? Anyone who enjoys YA Urban Fantasy, or watching shows like Supernatural, and who isn’t bothered by profanity, blood and guts, unusual character names and locations should love it. Definitely!
  3. Favorite quote from your own work? “What it IS, Shagadelic Dream-Eyes?”
  4. Traditional or Self-publishing? Why? Self-published. Because I have no patience and 27 rejection letters is apparently my limit.
  5. If you could only write in one genre for the rest of your life what would it be and why? Even though my next novel is YA Historical Fiction, I’m gonna go with Urban Fantasy. It’s a complete blast!
  6. Name one book that affected the way you write? Stephen King’s On Writing
  7. Three authors you recommend and why? Oh, Jeez. This is a hard question. How can I narrow it down to only three? Okay, keeping to YA, and keeping in mind that if you love these author’s books you’re more likely to love mine, I’ll say, Cassandra Clare, because not only is she the Queen of Feels, and a Love Triangle Genius, her books are just awesome! I thank God I read them only after I had the idea for my own. Leigh Bardugo. Because Six of Crows. Enough said.  I can’t decide between Laini Taylor and Maggie Stiefvater! This is just cruel. Read both! They are beyond excellent! 
  8. If you could change one thing about the world, what would it be? Irradiate greed.
  9. What do you believe is your main purpose/motivation as a writer? It’s the same motivation I have when I’m working on a drawing, or any other art project. To stay inspired while I complete the work and get to the next project.
  10. What’s your favorite writing-related memory? I love how when I’m working on a scene, or an idea for a plot detail, and real-life things start popping up about the very thing I’m thinking about. The lines between fiction and fact become blurred, and even though it can be a little disconcerting, and make me feel like I’m going nuts, it’s pretty fun. 
  1. What’s a favorite moment you’ve had with a fan/someone who’s read your work? An enthusiastic five-star review on Goodreads, where the reader completely understood the essence of my story, and was inspired by it. Also, the time a fan said, “You need to have more confidence in your writing! This book is way, WAY better than Six of Crows!” (Not even close, in my opinion, but still! Both of these were so nice, it made me cry.) 
  2. One fun fact most people don’t know about you? “Fun Fact”… I’m drawing a blank here because I’m not a private or secretive person. Everyone who knows me pretty much knows everything there is to know about me.
  3. One piece of advice you would give to new writers? Strive to perfect the art of patience. And keep doing what you love: Keep writing.

Thank you, Siri for the great interview! Connect with her on social media and check out her website at www.sgdsingh.com. Check out my review of Emergence, the first book in the Infernal Guard Trilogy here and the second book here The entire series is now available for purchase on Amazon. 

As always, keep making magic, word weavers!

Leave a Reply

