Author Interview: J.E. Mueller

 

JessicaIntro: Hi my name is Jessica and I write under the name J.E. Mueller. I am a Young Adult/New Adult fantasy author. All my musing, teasers, and random (usually fantasy related) posts can be found at https://www.facebook.com/authorJEMueller/

For fun, if I could be any mythological being I’d have to say unicorn. There’s many varying myths about them, both good and surprisingly evil. I love the variety, mystery, and magical beauty that goes along with their legends.

  1. What got you interested in writing?

When I was young I had trouble finding books I liked that were at my age level. A friend also reached that point and together we started doing story prompts. I really didn’t like the nature of the prompts and quickly started doing my own thing. I started with ghosts, super powers, and quickly branched out into other forms of magic.

  1. When did you become SERIOUS about writing?

I thought in 8th grade I would be a serious writer. And again my sophomore year. I had written many things, but I didn’t actually get serious until about 2011.

  1. What inspired your book?

This book was actually inspired by a tragic event my sophomore year of high school. A friend passed away and I was trying to find ways to cope. I asked myself, “What could be worse than this?” Then I gave that character a terrible curse with an even more tragic background. I dug that story out in 2015 and redid it, giving it the life it deserved.

  1. What is the book about?

Simply put: magic, curses, and demons. My main character, Kikara (or Key for short) has a fire curse thanks to her late father. She doesn’t want to cause her family anymore pain and leaves to go find answers.

Official Blurb: Having already lost and given up everything, Key is determined to find a cure for her curse. With her very touch able to kill, she must seek answers from a distance. In this world, if a curse born dies, then the demons win their soul. Without much more to lose, Key decides to try the last of her luck on a village catered to magic born. Her questions unleash events that take her places she never expected existed.

  1. What are the characters like?

At first, it seems like Key is the only one struggling. She avoids getting to know most people, but as she finally lets people in, readers get to see that Key is not the only one wearing a mask. Everyone has their own story, and some are more unpredictable than others.

  1. Who should pick up your book and why?

I recommend this book for late YA and NA readers. The focus of the story is Key’s adventure, and as such there’s no love triangle, little room for romance, and some demon slaying. Who doesn’t like a little fun with curses?

  1. Favorite quote from your own work?

“I take it you or some of your family has magic?”

“Pretty much,” he replied, not even glancing back.

There was a silence before I asked, “Which is it, then?”

“Both. Sorry. Was thinking about what the kid’s reaction would be if he found out that just about everyone had some form of magic. Mostly small, like being able to see the truth. Like Lanna. I’m good with the elements, but nothing earth shattering.”

  1. If you could only write in one genre for the rest of your life what would it be and why?

Fantasy. There is a ton of sub genres and so many opportunities for fun. I’d love to try out dark fantasy, and maybe high fantasy. There is an endless amount of possibilities, and magic is never not fun to write.

  1. Name one book that affected the way you write?

Ella Enchanted. The dialogue was amazing, and the descriptions were simple, but stuck with you. There was nothing I didn’t love about it.

  1. Three authors you recommend and why?

My first favorite author growing up was Kerri Hawkins (author of Blood Legacy). She took an overused idea (vampires) and made it so amazing, exciting, and breathtaking that I couldn’t put her series down.

Maria V Snyder became my second ever author I had to favorite. Poison Study struck several chords with me. There was magic, and love, and yet she somehow intertwined several tough subjects into one novel. It was one of the first books that I felt was empowering, and helped me get out of several bad situations.

Kelly Blanchard. She is a fellow indie author who writes wonder and complex books that are a mix of sci-fi and fantasy. They make me think, laugh, have worked their way into my very soul. Her series (Someday I’ll Be Redeemed) is one of the few that actually can help me calm down and shove my anxiety aside as Kelly sweeps you into her world of magic and high technology.

  1. If you could change one thing about the world, what would it be?

Kindness. The world needs more love for one another. I hope my writing can help inspire some of that.

  1. What do you believe is your main purpose/motivation as a writer?

Books have saved my life and I hope that mine can do the same for another. Writing is meant to entertain, to challenge thoughts, but I believe it can also save lives.

  1. What’s your favorite writing-related memory?

I used to write and drawn terrible Silent Hill comics with a friend. They were hilarious, and I greatly enjoyed seeing her reactions to my out of character interpretations. (Who says Red can be a teacher?)

  1. What’s a favorite moment you’ve had with a fan/someone who’s read your work?

I was checking in with some beta reads and one had commented how much he loved my series. It was exciting, but my favorite part was when he said he had read it four times. Before it was freshly edited, he read it four times he loved it so much. It was a big part of the motivation I needed to finish editing.

  1. One fun fact most people don’t know about you?

I used to take dance classes. I loved hip-hop and did very well in dance for the few years I stuck with it.

  1. One piece of advice you would give to new writers?

I’ve heard so many say that they worry that their idea has been done before, or even over done. It probably has. BUT that’s not a reason to stop. Your take is going to be so different and could be the thing the world needs. Bram Stoker wrote Dracula but that didn’t stop Stephenie Meyer from writing Twilight. It didn’t stop L.J. Smith from writing the Vampire Diaries, and it didn’t stop Charlaine Harris from writing the Sookie Stackhouse novels. Go write your novel. Throw in glitter, darkness, and puns. Whatever suits you. Your novel is worth writing.


Thank you, Jessica! Don’t forget to say hi to her on Facebook. 

Her book, Fire’s Song, can be purchased on Amazon!

If you’d like to be interviewed here on my blog. say hi on Facebook, Twitter, or via my Contact Me page.

Leave a Reply

