Announcing A New Twitter Game: DreamWIP!

I have an exciting social media event coming up that I wanted to let y’all know about! Starting on March 1st 2017, I will be hosting a Twitter event that I like to call, #DreamWIP.  It will last all month. The first round of questions will be general brainstorming prompts encouraging authors to think about what they like and don’t like about books they’ve read. I designed it this way so that authors can use the knowledge they gain from answering those questions as a springboard for brainstorming their own unique book. Depending on the popularity of it, I have at least three more months planned, focusing on some of the other basic elements of storytelling: Characters, Plots, and Settings.

How did the idea come about?

The idea for this game came from a couple of things. First, I saw J.M. Sullivan’s post on her blog, in which she encouraged authors to run with crazy ideas and see where they took them. Her Twitter game #authorconfessions came from a wild whim and since then has turned into something much bigger. Ever since I joined Twitter in March of last year, I’ve fallen in love with Twitter games as a way to socialize and befriend other like-minded writer folks. The day that I read that post, I decided that I wanted to design a Twitter game of my own. Figuring out what type of Twitter game… That was a whole other story.  

I started thinking about which parts of the writing process had already been addressed in other Twitter games I’d seen. I realized the most difficult part of coming up with a book idea for me isn’t once I get into it, it’s finding the right idea in the first place. That got me thinking about something one of my favorite authors and YouTubers, Kim Chance, said in her videos about her current WIP. As much as she loves it now, it was such a crazy project that she was terrified to even try until her agent told her to just dive in and go for it. In other words: She had a massive case of writer’s block. This kind of writer’s block is something I continue to struggle with as I work on my own WIP. I wanted to come up with a way to show writers (including me) they weren’t alone, and that no idea was too small or outlandish, thus #DreamWIP was born.

What is it?

A Twitter month-long game designed to help writers brainstorm their dream books with each other and beat that pesky writer’s block!

How does it work?

On February 28, 2017,  I will post an introduction post on Twitter, so we can all get to know each other. A post with all of the questions will be pinned at the top of my feed on March 1, 2017, and one question will be posted per day. To answer, just use the hashtag  #DreamWIP in your tweet, retweet the question with your answer, or reply to the post with your answer.

Who can join?

Anyone can join in at any point during the month. Just go to my Twitter, look at the pinned post in my feed, or scroll down to the current day’s question.

Rules

  1. This is designed as a brainstorming game. If you think another author’s idea is amazing, that’s great! Give it a like or a Retweet, but don’t steal it for yourself!
  1. Connect! The point of this game is to beat writer’s block and find other writer buddies you can brainstorm with in the future, so go say hi!
  1. These posts are meant to be used as a springboard. You can write as little or as much as you want. No idea is too big or small, and there’s no such thing as a bad one.
  1. Have fun!

I’m excited and I hope you are too!

4 thoughts on “Announcing A New Twitter Game: DreamWIP!

Leave a Reply

