Book Review: Into Wonderland

IMG_0619.JPG

Taken by me using my Kindle copy

Into Wonderland 

By R.L. Weeks

Summary: Neverland was built on the Fountain of Youth and Peter was its King of Hearts. Now that Snow is in charge, Neverland has warped into Wonderland, leaving everyone trapped in a neverending nightmare of madness.

Gallisa, the White Queen, is confined to her palace, leaving everyone without hope.

Alice has spent years searching her world for a way into Wonderland after receiving a letter from her sister, Wendy. When she finally steps through the mirror, she gets a lot more than she bargained for. (via Amazon)

As with the other two books. R.L. Weeks was kind enough to send me an ARC of this book in exchange for an honest review (Read my first two reviews here and here). Unfortunately, this was my least favorite book of the three.

Pros:

New Characters: It kills me that this book was my least favorite, because every single time I open one of her books I am so excited to see the twists that Week’s comes up with for some of my favorite fairy tale characters, I love the ideas; they are so unlike anything I’ve ever come across in retellings before, yet still tinged with a familiar air, and full of easter eggs that make exploring each new chapter a fun adventure. 

Unexpected Twists: This is related to my point above, but I particularly loved Week’s take on the relationships between the London based characters. The book encompassed so many characters I hadn’t expected to see, enhanced by a creepy factor that was much closer to the Tim Burton atmosphere (which is my favorite Alice adaptation) than the Disney one I remember as a kid.

Cons:    

Pacing: I’m pretty sure I mentioned this before in one of my other reviews, but I just couldn’t let the speed of this book slide. It was so fast paced that I had a hard time bonding with any of the characters, and I felt like, in contrast with the last book, there was a lot more that could have been flushed out.

Overall Rating: 3.5/5 stars.   Recommended for fans of the series. 

Recommendation: Splintered by: AG Howard

This stunning debut captures the grotesque madness of a mystical under-land, as well as a girl’s pangs of first love and independence.

Alyssa Gardner hears the whispers of bugs and flowers—precisely the affliction that landed her mother in a mental hospital years before. This family curse stretches back to her ancestor Alice Liddell, the real-life inspiration for Lewis Carroll’s Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland. Alyssa might be crazy, but she manages to keep it together. For now.
When her mother’s mental health takes a turn for the worse, Alyssa learns that what she thought was fiction is based in terrifying reality. The real Wonderland is a place far darker and more twisted than Lewis Carroll ever let on. There, Alyssa must pass a series of tests, including draining an ocean of Alice’s tears, waking the slumbering tea party, and subduing a vicious bandersnatch, to fix Alice’s mistakes and save her family. She must also decide whom to trust: Jeb, her gorgeous best friend and secret crush, or the sexy but suspicious Morpheus, her guide through Wonderland, who may have dark motives of his own. (via Goodreads)

Leave a Reply

