October Book Review: Dark Magic: Witches, Hackers, and Robots

Dark Magic: Witches, Hackers, and Robots Anthology

Published by: Owl Hollow Press

1945654007.jpg

With permission of Owl Hollow Press

Summary: Magic is described as science we do not understand and illusions as tricks of controlling audience perspective. Black hat or white hat, good or evil, witches, hackers, and robots work types of magic a little beyond our day-to-day comprehension. And what is more exciting than the inexplicable? DARK MAGIC is all around us. Join us for a thrilling ride. (via Goodreads)

Just in time for Halloween, this start-up publishing company has released their first of many books. A collaboration of both new and veteran authors create the perfect spooky collection of short stories to add to your shelf.

This anthology was my first dip into science fiction since reading The Lunar Chronicles, albeit a very different kind than Marisa Meyer’s world. I have to say though, while you probably won’t find me surfing Amazon specifically in the science-fiction section any time soon, this book has opened me up even further to the genre and is definitely something I would return to for a second and third read.

Pros

Something for Everyone: The joy of this anthology is that every single author has a unique flavor to contribute, and the finished result is a satisfying array of tales that will appeal to fantasy and magic lovers like me and all the way up to the pure science fiction nuts. No matter what kind of reader you are, Dark Magic has a twisted tale guaranteed to get you in the Halloween spirit.

World-Building: Though all of the pieces in the book have to do with some spin on the iconic characters and universes of–you guessed it– witches, hackers, or robots, I never felt like I was reading the same story twice. Each author put their own unique stamp on the classics, revamping them in new and interesting ways that made me wonder why I didn’t gravitate toward this genre more often.  

Diverse and Loveable Characters: Even though these stories aren’t particularly extensive in length–with the longest running about 20 pages, give or take, the characters felt like real and flushed out, many of whom left me wanting to continue to follow them on their journeys after the story was over.     

Cons:

Left Me Wanting More: As I said above, there were several pieces that intrigued me to the point that I wanted to spend more time lost in the authors’ works, I don’t see that as a con, but rather a sign that when these authors are published again, I will have a whole new stock of books to keep me busy.

Overall Rating: 5/5 Stars. A wonderful addition to anyone’s collection this Halloween.

Challenge of the Week: What books put you in the Halloween spirit?

Leave a Reply

