The Disney Book Tag

Hey all! So, I’m really sorry that this isn’t the new Fantome Queen installment. That WILL be up this week, it’s just taking a little longer to put together. (Read Part One) In the meantime, I had so much fun with the last book tag I did, I thought I’d do another. This one was created by Katytastic over on Youtube! Check out her video HERE.

 

  1. The Little Mermaid – a character who is out of their element, a “fish out of water” Haha. Just about all of my favorite books deal with “fish out of water” characters. It may be becoming somewhat of  a cliche by now, because it’s such a common thing to do in YA (Young Adult) fiction, but I don’t care. I love a good self-discovery story. For this one, I’m going to have to go with Gemma Doyle from the Gemma Doyle Trilogy (a.k.a. Great and Terrible Beauty Trilogy) by Libba Bray. Gemma goes off to a boarding school for reasons that I can’t say without spoiling part of the plot. Let’s just say though, that she becomes a fish out of water in roughly fifty different ways throughout the first book ALONE. (Okay, I’m exaggerating, but still.)

 

  1. Cinderella – a character who goes through a major transformation. For this one, I have to go with Cinder from, Cinder by Marissa Meyer. Yes, this is a Cinderella retelling, but I’m not talking surface levels of transforming here. Cinder’s whole life gets turned upside down, and though she is a super awesome badass throughout the entire series, I think she changes a lot from the beginning of the first book to the end of the fourth.

      

  1. Snow White – a book with an eclectic cast of characters.  I honestly can’t think of a better answer than the one Kat had, so I’m going to go ahead and echo her choice of Rick Riordan’s Heroes of Olympus. You’ve got Greek and Roman gods, books told from NINE different viewpoints, kids of different nationalities, and even from different (mini spoiler) time periods in some cases! How can you get more eclectic than that?
  2. Sleeping Beauty – a book that put you to sleep. Please don’t hate me for this, but I’m going to have to go with Eragon by Christopher Paolini. Now, to be fair, I only tried to read it once when I was maybe a sophomore in high school, so maybe I should try again one day. For now though… Those of you who have read my writing know that I am a very wordy person, but even for me this book had too much description of settings, places, and objects without a lot of action to balance it. Just not my style, I guess.

 

  1. The Lion King – a character who had something traumatic happen to them in childhood This seems to be a pretty common occurrence in YA lit, but I have to say  Annemarie from Number the Stars by Lois Lowry. She’s a 10-year-old girl growing up in the middle of WWii and yeah, I’ll leave it at that.

 

  1. Beauty and the Beast – A beast of a book (a big book) that you were intimidated by, but found the story to be beautiful Currently don’t have a book like this, unfortunately, but I’ll gladly take suggestions.

 

  1. Aladdin – a character who gets their wish granted, for better or worse. Zahra and Aladdin from The Forbidden Wish by Jessica Khory. (Read my review HERE). It was amazing and everyone needs to read it.

 

  1. Mulan – a character who pretends to be someone or something they are not Oh goodness, who to pick, who to pick? How bout Luke from The Shadow Children series by Margaret Peterson Haddix. He pretends to be many different people over the course of the series and in the first book, he has to pretend he doesn’t even exist due to regulations by the government that no family can have more than two children.

 

  1. Toy Story – a book with characters you wish would come to life. Definitely The Lunar Chronicles characters. Cinder especially because I think she’d be really awesome to hang out with.

 

  1. Disney Descendants – your favorite villain or morally ambiguous character. Elphaba from Wicked by Gregory MaGuire. Now, I’m more talking about the musical version than the book, but I just find her so well rounded and complex and relatable and just… I just love her.

Challenge of the Week: Tag to all my readers!

Leave a Reply

