The Pokemon-Go Book Tag!

Disclaimer: Pokemon-Go is property of Niantic and  Nintendo. This Tag and these graphics are from Read at Midnight and used with permission. 

Lots of people in my writing circle have been doing this tag lately, so I thought I would jump on board and join them!

pokemon-tag-01starters

The book series that started it all for me had to be The Magic Treehouse by Mary Pope Osborne. it introduced me to magic, mystery, and made historical fiction fun. They are also the first chapter books I can remember finishing on my own.

pokemon-tag02pikachu

I have to admit that I don’t read a lot of “classics,” but I think my favorite will always be A Christmas Carol by Charles Dickens.   The story is timeless and always makes it feel like Christmas.

pokemon-tag-03-zubat

This is more a  type of book than a specific title or series, but I am so tired of dystopian novels. I loved The Hunger Games, but ever since they came out, I’ve seen these things popping up left and right. I don’t hate them, but they’re getting a bit repetitive for my taste.

pokemon-tag-04-ditto

The Wishing Spell by Chris Colfer. Now, I read a lot of fairy tale retellings, and I love to write them as well,  so of course I’m bound to come across some similar books sooner or later. This book in particular reminds me of The Sisters Grimm by Micheal Buckley. That however, was not a bad thing, because it was the similarities that made  me pick it up in the first place.

pokemon-tag-05-snorlax

I’m probably going to get a lot of flak for this, but… The Mortal Instruments by Cassandra Claire. With as many spin-offs and different universes that seem to connect within this series, it’s just a bit too daunting for me. That doesn’t mean I’ll never pick it up, but not right now.

 

pokemon-tag06-gengar

For this one, I’m going to have to go with Keeper by Kim Chance. (Click the link to see my review). It’s not technically a book yet, but I was lucky enough to be picked as a beta earlier this year and every time I had to get up and do something else, all I wanted to do was keep reading.

pokemon-tag07-nidokingqueen

Hmm. I don’t read a lot of romance and I’m not much for shipping couples in books (T.V. shows are a whole other story)… I think I have to say Alex and  Piper from Orange is the New Black. (It was a book first, but I’m shipping the T.V. characters :))

pokemon-tag08-rapidash

I have to go with Cinder by Marissa Meyer. It was amazing and if I remember correctly I finished it in about 3 days!   Click the link to read my review.

pokemon-tag09-eevee.png

Without Question, Percy Jackson by Rick Riordan. The world  is so rich and Riordan’s writing style is so lighthearted and fun. I don’t care for Magnus Chase as much, but Percy and the gang are always fun.

pokemon-tag14-magikarp

Again, Percy Jackson. When I’d picked it up, it was simply because I had nothing else to read. I never expected to love it as much as I did.

pokemon-tag12-legendary

Shame on me for this, but I have still yet to read A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sara J. Maas. The summary looks awesome and I’ve heard it has Beauty and the Beast element as well. I definitely  plan to read it ASAP.

pokemon-tag10-egg

I know I skipped a tag, but I’m not really into collectors items where books are concerned. Anyway, for this one, probably The Crown’s Game (I think it’s a debut) by Evelyn Skye. I know it’s already out, but I haven’t read it yet and really look forward to doing so.

pokemon-tag11-lure-module

Rick Riordan, Ridley Pearson, Marissa Meyer, Kim Chance, Margaret Peterson Haddix, and (sometimes) Sarah Dessen.

pokemon-tag13-server-down

This has to be Heartless by Marisa Meyer. I know it hasn’t been that long since Stars Above, but I feel like I haven’t read anything by her in forever and I just really want to get into this book. Also, her graphic novel Wires and Nerve. That looks epic.

Challenge of the Week: Tag! You’re it! How would you fill in these Pokemon-Go categories?

 

Leave a Reply

