Update: Flash Fiction, Writing Contests, and Betas Soon Needed

I apologize for the lack of new posts and flash fiction lately, but I figured I owed you guys an update. Here’s what’s been going on so far:

Flash Fiction: I’m currently working on what will more than likely be a short story series (A story posted as Part 1, Part 2, Part 3 etc.) on the blog, inspired by a Suggestion Box prompt from S.G.D Singh .The project is currently untitled, but I hope to have the first part up by Sunday. The prompt is as follows:

Name: Octavia (Tavi) Bordeaux/ AKA: The Crazy Cat Girl (she takes in strays who become strangely devoted to her)

Place: New Orleans, USA

Time: A not-so-distant future where magic is no longer a secret art but has taken over society

Thing: A magical pen that teleports its user to the person who’s name they write–EVEN The Dead. (And fictional characters?)

I’m really excited about my interpretation of it, and I hope this gets you excited too!

Writing Contests: I was sent a link a few days ago containing roughly forty writing contest opportunities  in August. I have decided to  enter three of them, provided I can get the work done to the proper caliber on time (fingers crossed), and thought I would pass it along in case any of you want to do the same.

http://publishedtodeath.blogspot.com/2016/07/21-calls-for-submissions-august-2016.html 

Some of the dates have already passed, but there are still plenty of opportunities for writers of almost every genre left!

Betas Needed: To that end, I will want betas soon to give me feedback before I send my entries in, so keep that in mind. I will only need betas for the last two entries, as the first is too tight a deadline to do so. The last two entries are due on August 31st, so a request will go up  on August 15th, and the sign up period will end on the 18th. This may change, so  stay tuned for more information.

-Claerie

 

 

Leave a Reply

