Book Reviews, Reviews

July Book Review #3: Haunting Fairytales Collectionn

Haunting Fairytales Collection is out today! Join the event to win some amazing fairytale items and other goodies. ~ ~ Get the book on Amazon:

The Haunting Fairytales Collection: Volume 1

By: R.L. Weeks

Poster for release!.jpg
Used with permission from R.L. Weeks

Summary: Re-imagining The Frog Prince, Beauty and the Beast, Rumpelstiltskin, Snow White, and The Little Mermaid. R. l. Weeks brings you The Haunting Fairytales Collection, Volume 1.

Edward was cursed to be a Toad after breaking Lori’s heart. Now he wants his happy ending back, and he doesn’t care how many happily ever after’s he ruins trying to get it.

The Evil Queen, Lori, is out to make sure that Edward never finds happiness.

Stilt will use any means necessary to get what he wants after a disastrous incident which left his wife childless and heartbroken.

Belle, Snow Ariel, James, and many more characters find themselves as pawns in a dangerous game played between the most powerful sorcerers in all the lands. (via Goodreads)

Once again, I have been fortunate enough to beta for best-selling author R.L. Weeks, and she  was kind enough to extend an ARC of her latest book. The Haunted Fairytales Collection is a series of connected short stories that put a darker spin on classic tales, starting with The Toad Prince (That story was released separately before it was added to the collection, see my full review for it HERE).  


  • The Atmosphere: The fairytale atmosphere was definitely present here, and though none of the tales were particularly happy, they were written in a manner which created a nice balance between the lighthearted wonder I was familiar with as a child, and the dark roots of the original tales. As someone who is not a particular fan of .”horror-esque” stories, but was intrigued by this collection for my love of magic and fairytales, I very much appreciated the effort that Weeks put into finding a pleasant medium between the two.
  • Character Depth: Those who read my previous review probably know that the first time around, I wasn’t the biggest fan of the character development in The Toad Prince. Due to the fast advancement of the plot, I found it hard to relate to and/or root for any of them. Though that issue still stands in some ways, (which I will address momentarily), as the collection went on, I enjoyed seeing the various sides to each person, especially the main “cast” as it were. I can’t say much more without giving something away, but what I most enjoyed about the character  arcs was that no one was ever what they appeared at first glance.
  • The Flow: Each story molded relatively seamlessly with the next, and the way weeks was able to cohesively connect so many differing tales is a skill that I very much admire.


  • Length: While the characters did become more and more intriguing the farther into the collection I went, the individual stories still moved a bit speedily for my taste. Again, each tale had a lot of intricate pieces woven throughout, and all the hurdles and obstacles that took place were necessary, interesting, and entertaining. I only wish it could have been longer so that the subtle details and subplots could have been more throughly explored.

Overall Rating: 4/5 stars Recommended for fans of R.L. Week’s previous works, and lovers of fairy tales.

Recommendation: A Book of Spirits and Thieves by Morgan Rhodes

Summary: Modern-day sisters discover deadly ancient magic in book 1 of this Falling Kingdoms spin-off series!

Worlds collide in this suspenseful, page-turning Falling Kingdoms spin-off series, which explores a whole new side of Mytica—and an even darker version of its magic.

Crystal Hatcher, Modern-day Toronto: It’s a normal afternoon in her mother’s antique bookshop when Crys witnesses the unthinkable: her little sister Becca collapses into a coma after becoming mesmerized by a mysterious book written in an unrecognizable language.

Maddox Corso, Ancient Mytica: Maddox Corso doesn’t think much of it when he spots an unfamiliar girl in his small village. Until, that is, he realizes that she is a spirit, and he is the only one who can see or hear her. Her name is Becca Hatcher, and she needs Maddox to help get her home.

Farrell Grayson, Modern-day Toronto: Rich and aimless Farrell Grayson is thrilled when the mysterious leader of the ultra-secret Hawkspear Society invites him into the fold. But when he learns exactly what he has to do to prove himself, Farrell starts to question everything he thought he knew about family, loyalty, and himself….
Fate has brought these young people together, but ancient magic threatens to rip them apart. (via Goodreads)

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s