Deadlines

 

“I love deadlines. I love the whooshing noise they make as they go by.”

Douglas Adams, The Salmon of Doubt

I found this quote on Goodreads, and it really resonated with me.

I happen to love deadlines. Sometimes they do back me into a corner if I’m really, really stuck, but mostly, they keep me from getting in a rut. If I give myself a deadline, it forces me to carve out time during the week to just sit down and work. Whether it be on a project due for school, or simply a goal to stay on track, deadlines help me set my priorities.  Even if I don’t always meet them, they give me something to look forward to. A mark to hit, if you will.

The other wonderful thing deadlines, I’ve discovered, is that, when I do reach it, I feel a real sense of accomplishment. Not only was I able to do what needed to be done, but I also stuck to a schedule, and completed my task in a timely manner. That’s a skill that everyone, no matter what field they are in, can benefit greatly from.

Challenge of the Week: The dreaded deadline. Do you find them helpful for your creative process, or hurtful? Why?

 

3 thoughts on “Deadlines

  1. Scout says:

    I find goals/deadlines helpful as long as I give myself grace when life happens I I don’t quite get there. For example, my deadline for once-per-week blog posting is Friday, but each of my kids has been sick. Now my husband has come down with the flu! So I give myself grace and just keep trucking. The benefit is that, even if I don’t finish “on time” I have completed some of my writing. Now, my to do list is a different story for household stuff. Things like paying bills that must be done on time. I’m writing a blog post at the moment where I explain my “three item” to do list. That keeps me going without becoming overwhelmed.

    Like

Leave a Reply

